SONGS FOR MY SOUL

So I’m home. The best thing about it (well off course other than the being home part) was that, everyone was there. The married ones with their better halves. The unmarried ones enjoying not having to go to college. Six days of festivities and playing cards. Joy! On top of it, the eldest brother had a collection of some 900 songs on him. Off course I had to copy them all. Boy! It did take a lot of hard work to sort them out. Let me tell you, having to listen to complete trash is easy. You can easily delete them. And the good ones directly gets saved. But what about the borderlines? Took me six days to sort them out. 157 out of 900 have survived. And its just the first cut. I’ll have to give a good listen to them once or twice over to fully decide.

There’s Queen, Maxi Priest, Scorpions, Saxon, Hot Chip. Frankly, other than Queens and Scorpions, I’d never heard of the others. Plus there’s smattering of other artists who have only one or two songs left back. I like to listen to new songs and new artists. But I’ve seldom outgrown the songs and artists that I’ve grown up listening to. My song collection is not sorted out in terms of genre, or artist or such other chronological methods. No. I keep my musics in one folder. A new folder for every year. The first one says “2009-2010” but it actually is a collection of all the songs that I’d collected from 2007. You get the drift. I’m currently on 2012-2013. If you look closely to the songs on them, you will get to see my gradual change of taste. Its a reflection of the change that came up on me. The songs that I listened to, in a particular year, the reason that I liked them in the first place, is in itself a tell on how I was.

I will dwell upon all those in another entry. For now, I have to listen to these songs. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

